Gouda Curried Quinoa//”My Favourite’s Gouda”

When I was around the age of eleven She’s the Man became my favourite movie. I could quote the entire movie and found myself watching it over and over again. I mean Channing Tatum was a leading roles, need I say more?

Flash-forward to last week when I found myself standing directly in front of a display of gouda. Of course I immediately though of the scene in She’s the Man where Viola is pretending to be her brother and gives Duke (her crush) advice on how to talk to girls, which includes asking if they like cheese.

Now for most women—excluding me of course—if a man tried to hit on them by asking if they liked cheese I’m sure they would question his sanity. However, for me I would do just about anything to have Channing Tatum ask me that question no matter how cheesy our conversation may be.

Out of impulse I decided to buy a 200 gram package of mild gouda by Anco Cheeses. Through a process of trial and error, using only ingredients I had on hand, I created the dish I call “Gouda Curried Quinoa”.

I imagine this to be the first dish Viola and Duke would have shared together and I guarantee it will be gouda-nough for you and whoever you decided to share it with!
_____________________________________________________

Yield: 4-6 servings
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cooking Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 30 minutes
_____________________________________________________ 

Ingredients:

IMG_0412.jpg

For the meat mixture:

½ pound ground turkey
1 cup chopped white mushrooms
½ cup chopped brown onion
1 teaspoon olive oil
¼ cup curry powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon garlic

For the quinoa mixture:

3 cups chicken broth
1 ½ cups quinoa (uncooked)
1 cup shredded gouda cheese

Instructions:

  1. Shred gouda cheese and set aside. Dice mushrooms and onions and set aside.      Unknown.jpeg
  2. Place frying pan on a burner and set that element to medium temperature. Dump the teaspoon of olive oil onto frying pan. Once the oil begins to sizzle put the ground turkey onto the pan. Use your spatula to divide up the turkey meat into smaller chunks in your frying pan.
  1. Now place your medium sized pot onto a different burner and set to a medium temperature. Immediately pour chicken broth into pot. Leave pot to simmer and bring to a boil.
  1. Continue to move the turkey around the pan with your spatula periodically flipping it over and continuing to break it into smaller chunks.
  1. Once the turkey is mostly no longer pink, add onions. There will be some excess grease in the pan. Do not worry, this will help to brown the onions and will later get absorbed back into the turkey to add more flavor.
    IMG_0414.jpg
  1. Once the broth is boiling add quinoa to the pot. Turn the temperature down to low. Stir once and cover. Let sit for approximately ten minutes, or until no more liquid is in the pot.                            IMG_0417.jpg
  2. Once the onions are translucent add mushrooms to the meat mixture. Then, add garlic, salt, and pepper, stirring constantly.
  3. After the ten minutes is up (or whenever the liquid is gone from the pot) stir quinoa. Continue to stir or else your quinoa will stick to the bottom of the pot.
  4. Once the turkey is browned, add curry powder to the frying pan and stir.
    IMG_0418.jpg
  5. Add the shredded gouda cheese to your quinoa, stirring it as you pour it in. Turn off both elements.
  6. Finally slowly pour the meat mixture into the pot with the quinoa and cheese. Serve and enjoy immediately.gcq.jpg

Suggestion:

If you’re wondering what wine will best compliment this dish read Fiona Beckett’s post What Wine to Drink with Curry-My Top 5 Picks on her website Matching food & wine.

Leave a Reply

